Mexican Pizza: Quick, yummy, and can be healthy

IMG_2856

This is actually my LOL’s recipe which goes a long way back to when he was in college at Northwestern when he found a tiny Mexican restaurant which made this style of pizza. Being a true Chicagoan, he prefers the deep dish pizza of course but this is pretty good. Light and yummy!

If you make all or as many of the the ingredients from the scratch, this can be a very healthy, tasty and balanced meal. I don’t make the tortilla. In San Diego, we are spoiled for choice in tortilla. We prefer the uncooked variety which is the secret behind best quesadillas.

IMG_2989

IMG_2991

IMG_2992

IMG_2993

I cook all kinds of beans – black, pinto, chickpea, kidney, lima, fava etc. from the scratch and freeze them in single serve bags. So I like to make the refried beans for my Mexican recipes. I don’t mind using the canned version if it does not have sodium. We always have a few cans as backups in our pantry. I prefer making stuff from the scratch but it is not necessary. There are plenty of options available now.

Ingredients

  • Tortilla (preferably uncooked): 1
  • Refried beans (I like to refry the beans myself but canned is okay): 1/4 cup
  • Guacamole (will provide recipe in a separate post), store-bought is fine too: 1/4 cup
  • Shredded mexican style cheese (a combination of pepperjack, cheddar and queso): 1/4 cup or less πŸ™‚

Optional Variations

  • If you want meat, add ground beef (optional): LOL adds it for himself with the beans, I don’t since I am a vegetarian. Viyan is open to it but likes just beans as quite as well.
  • Tabasco sauce (optional): Viyan and I like to sprinkle a few drops on the beans
  • Tomato salsa medium or spicy (will provide recipe separately): 2 tablespoons. This was Viyan’s addition but makes it real yummy. He thinks there cannot be a pizza without some form of tomato sauce. I like it but LOL doesn’t like salsa with his Mexican pizza.

Preparation

  • Set oven to broil
  • If you are using uncooked tortilla, fry it in the pan on both sides until it bubbles up. If you are using a cooked one, I would still suggest frying to brown up a bit.
  • Spread the beans or beans/beef mixture on the tortilla
  • Sprinkle tabasco if you like
  • Spread the salsa
  • Spread the guac
  • Spread the grated cheese
  • Broil for three minutes or until the cheese is all bubbly and slightly browned.
  • Take it out, let it cool for a few and gorge!
  • We like it with a side of sour cream, but it is absolutely not necessary. But Viyan and I love sour cream with everything!
This entry was posted in Recipes, vegetarian recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mexican Pizza: Quick, yummy, and can be healthy

  1. heather426 says:

    Your cooking makes me hungry. I too want sour cream on everything, and pizza requires tomatoes imho. Will try this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin says:

    I love sour cream with anything Mexican. I will have to try this mexican pizza!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

