Kohlrabi & Coconut Stirfry with Fried Eggs

IMG_2842

Farm to Table — Kohlrabi

One of my gardening attempts this year was kohlrabi. I am yet to meet a vegetable I don’t like (good thing I am a vegetarian) but kohlrabi holds a special place in my heart 🙂 It yields itself so well to all kinds of cooking, right from a pureed soup to a spicy side dish.

I had no idea that it was a stem vegetable until I grew it myself. You cut it under the kohlrabi and my leftover little plants are growing back now. Because of it is plentiful in my garden, I have tried to vary the ways in which I cook it. This was a big leafy brunch. So I cooked both the kohlrabi greens and the kohlrabi itself and served it with fried eggs. I love Kohlrabi cooked South Indian style with coconut and so I used coconut flakes in this recipe. You can skip the eggs and use it as a side dish.

IMG_3022

Chop the kohlrabi and the greens

IMG_3023

Saute garlic and leek

IMG_3024

Saute greens

IMG_3025

Sprinkle coconut flakes after sauteing the greens and kohlrabi

IMG_3026

Serve with fried eggs on top

Ingredients

  • Kohlrabi: 1 chopped
  • Kohlrabi greens: 1 cup, chopped
  • Leeks: 1/2 cup. I used frozen but you can use fresh or even replace with green onions if you prefer
  • Garlic: 1 clove, optional. I love garlic with everything
  • Coconut flakes: 2 tbsp
  • Lemon juice: 1 tsp
  • Coconut oil: 1 tsp
  • Eggs: 2
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Preparation

  • Heat coconut oil in a skillet
  • Stir fry garlic and leek for a few minutes until the leeks are clear
  • Add the kohlarabi greens and lemon juice and stir fry for a 5-6 minutes
  • Add the kohlrabi and stir fry for 3-4 minutes
  • Add salt and pepper
  • Cover and cook until all the vegetables are tender
  • Sprinkle coconut flakes on top
  • Serve with fried eggs

Yummy, healthy brunch/breakfast! Serve with Prosecco or grapefruit mimosa if you are feeling indulgent 🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes, vegetarian recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kohlrabi & Coconut Stirfry with Fried Eggs

  1. platosgroove says:

    Where are you in the world? I will plant in about six weeks here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My home is in the upper peninsula of Michigan but I am spending this year in southern California and hence the gardening obsession!

    Like

  3. Pingback: A YEAR OF GARDENING IN SAN DIEGO: A RECAP | Next Step to Nirvana

Leave a Reply

