Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Black Beans Warm Salad

IMG_3106

Tastes even better than it looks.

I woke up this morning committed to going back on a grain free, healthy diet. I know I feel a lot better and energetic when I cut out grains and supplement with green juice.  But one problem with that it is as a vegetarian grain-avoider, I rely on eggs to fill me up. There are so many ways in which I spruce up my eggs but I do get egged out sometimes. I also tend to eat something I like over and over and then tire of it so much that I never eat it again. I used to eat eggs with kale and asparagus or mushroom every day for months and then I cannot even look at it now. So anyway, I woke up a little later than usual this morning because we stayed up half the night watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer and gorging on a huge bowl of home made popcorn. LOL makes the best popcorn ever. I was not hungry until after lunch time. I wanted to make a brunch but feeling quite uninspired about what to make. And I didn’t want to eat eggs. So I decided to put something together a bowl of something warm and tasty with what I had in the fridge. I channeled Mexican and Indian street food for inspiration.

Sprouts

Trim Brussel sprouts and toss them in olive oil, salt, pepper, and sugar. Bake them on a cookie sheet at 375 F for about 25 minutes.

IMG_3103

Roasted sprouts should look like this

IMG_3105

Cook black beans, tomatoes, chillies, and mushrooms with salt and cumin powder.

IMG_3106

Layer 1: brussel sprouts, Layer 2: black beans/tomatoes mix Layer 3: Sauce Garnish with chives. Tastes even better than it looks. And so healthy and yummy!

Ingredients

  • Brussel sprouts: 8-10 medium size
  • Cooked/Canned Black beans – 1 cup
  • Mushroom: optional (I had half leftover after I made LOL a mushroom omelet
  • Chives or onions – 2 tbs
  • Tomato – 1 medium
  • Cilantro – chopped 2 tbs
  • Cumin powder: 2 ts
  • Chili pepper: 1 or 2 (to taste)
  • Olive oil: 2 tbsp
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sugar – a pinch

For the sauce/dressing

  • Greek or regular yogurt: 1/4 cup
  • Lemon juice: 1 tbsp
  • Chili powder: 1/4 tsp
  • Salt: to taste
  • Coriander and cumin powder: 1 tsp

Preparation

  • Clean and trim the brussel sprouts
  • Toss with 1 tbsp olive oil, salt, pepper, and sugar
  • Roast brussel sprouts on a cookie sheet at 375 for 25 to 30 minutes until they are well roasted. I have a steam oven. If you are looking for one kitchen splurge this is the one I would recommend. It is absolutely marvelous.
  • When it is getting roasted, chop the tomato, mushroom, and chives and mince the chili pepper finely (without seeds if you are a wimp)
  • Mix the sauce ingredients and whisk them with a teaspoon of water. Set it in the fridge.
  • Heat a skillet on medium high
  • Add olive oil or your preferred oil
  • Saute tomatoes and minced green chillies
  • Add black beans and part of the chives. Reserve some for garnish
  • Add salt and cumin powder and cook for a few minutes
  • Add the chopped mushroom and cook for two minutes. You don’t want refried beans. So don’t mash or stir too much.
  • Take it off the stove
  • Arrange the brussel sprouts on a plate
  • Follow with the beans tomatoes mushroom mix
  • Drizzle the sauce on top
  • Garnish with chives
  • Dig in!

This was an outstanding dish. My taste buds were exploding in delight with the nutty flavor of the roasted brussel sprouts with the cumin and chili taste! The spicy chillies taste was complemented by the yogurt sauce.  And the mixture of textures was fantastic too.

Variations

  • Use it as taco or enchilada filling
  • Substitute yogurt with coconut cream for a vegan alternative
  • Experiment with different vegetables
  • Add spinach and pistachio for a different flavor!
This entry was posted in Cooking for one or two, Paleo Vegetarian, vegetarian recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Black Beans Warm Salad

  1. platosgroove says:

    It is 11:10 pm here but that made me hungry. I picked the last of my brussel sprouts last week along with some kale. I made an Italian style soup that used bacon, Italian sausage chicken stock, potatoes, garlic, and heavy cream. Probably not wonderfully good for you but it sure was good. The sprouts added a little bitterness that was marvelous.

    [image: –]

    Plato’s Groove [image: http://%5Dabout.me/platosgroove

    Like

  2. platosgroove says:

    It is 11:10 pm here but that made me hungry. I picked the last of my brussel sprouts last week along with some kale. I made an Italian style soup that used bacon, Italian sausage, chicken stock, potatoes, garlic, and heavy cream. Probably not wonderfully good for you but it sure was good. The sprouts added a little bitterness that was marvelous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just read your comment to my LOL and he was hooked! So do you mash the potatoes? Like a chowder?

    Like

  4. thelesleyshow says:

    This looks really good Brussels Sprouts are my favorite vegetable.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Paleo Vegetarian Stuffed Pepper: Mexican Style | Next Step to Nirvana

  6. Pingback: A YEAR OF GARDENING IN SAN DIEGO: A RECAP | Next Step to Nirvana

  7. Pingback: Paleo-Vegetarian/Vegan: Mexican style Stuffed Pepper

Leave a Reply

