Steelcut Oats Uppuma

Steelcutoatsupuma

Steel-cut Oats Uppma

I quite hate regular mushy oatmeal. It reminds me of being sick in childhood and being fed the oatmeal porridge type of dish. But I do like steel cut oats a lot. I like it that its texture is if like cracked wheat or bulgur or samba rava but it it not wheat based. And I love upma of all kinds especially with a lot of veggies. So I came up with this alternative of making upma with steel-cut uppma. Easy to make, packed with nutrition and flavor, an excellent choice for those of us who want to eat healthy and tasty food.

Ingredients:

  • Steel cut oats: 1 cup
  • Water: 1.5 cups
  • Mixture of Vegetables: 2-3 cups (I used a combination of onions, snow peas, carrots, and kale)
  • Fava beans (I used the fresh frozen from Trader Joe’s). I like to add some complex carb/protein to my big meals. Lima beans, green lentils, chickpeas are all good options. A bit of sweetness from the beans adds to the flavor.
  • Green chili/pepper: I am still using my ghost pepper, so a tiny, tiny amount is enough. But you can add it to your taste.

Seasoning

  • Peanut/Coconut Oil: 1 tbsp
  • Mustard seeds: 1 tsp
  • Urad dal: 1 tsp
  • Cashew (Optional)

Method

  • Cook oatmeal according to package instructions. I like to soak them overnight to reduce inflammatory phytic acid but it is not necessary if you are not trying to follow an anti-inflammatory diet. I pressure cook them to 1 whistle.
  • When oatmeal is cooking, chop up all the vegetables and slit the peppers/chili.
  • Cook the fava beans separately in the microwave or stove top. If you are using precooked beans like chickpeas, you don’t need this step. Same for lima beans. They cook tender with the rest of the vegetables.
  • In a pan, kadai, or wok, heat oil
  • Test oil heat with one mustard seed
  • When it sputters, add the rest of mustard seeds
  • After the mustard seeds sputter, add the urad dal and stir for 10 seconds or until they are golden
  • Add onions and chillis and stir fry for a couple of minutes
  • Add all the vegetables but the kale or spinach (or any green that you want to use) and stir fry until they are cooked tender but not mushy. Add the spinach/kale at the end and stir fry until they wilt.
  • Add salt to taste
  • Now break the oats (if they are in clumps) and add to the vegetable mixture. Add salt to taste. Toss all together.
  • Serve with tomato chutney and yogurt. If you are like me and my aunt, enjoy uppma with rasam!
This entry was posted in Healthy eating, Recipes, vegetarian recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steelcut Oats Uppuma

  1. thelesleyshow says:

    My husband really loves steel cut oats a lot. He is so impatient because he hates waiting for them to book (because they take a bit longer than regular oats).

    Like

  2. Lesley, Have you tried cooking it in bulk and storing in single serve bags? They do well that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

