A brother’s apology

I am tender

I came into the world

with a best friend already picked out.

The first voice

I heard from mother’s womb

was yours praying for a little brother

You loved me like a little mother

Big sisters are little mothers too.

Swaddled and coddled

praised and punished

played and protected

Mother, sister and best friend

all rolled into one.

I am sorry I didn’t see

the busย around the curve

leaving you alone

Shattering your world.

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A brother’s apology

  1. Saneh Pandey says:

    Beautiful! Blessings to all the loving and caring (mostly bossy ๐Ÿ™‚ ) brothers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was poignant and well-written. I love how the repetition of vowel sounds in “swaddled” and “coddled” creates an almost palpable swaddling effect as you recite the poem. I didn’t see the ending coming at all. ๐Ÿ˜ž

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kay Tislar says:

    Is this autobiographical, Latha? It is so sad, but very beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anonymous says:

    Latha ….. I have no words …

    Like

  5. Mukund says:

    This brother does not know what to say ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

  6. This is heartbreakingly beautiful!โ™ฅ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

