Turning forty five

Feels like it was just yesterday

I was sliding down the gutter

three stories down

in a game of hide and seek

with the sun on my back

throat hoarse like a frog

eating gooseberries

for hours

one after another

Feels like it was just yesterday

I was being carried by my father after

I fell off a tree with a gash on my forehead

when my worried mother looked so young

and I felt even younger

wanting so desperately

not to be

all of a sudden

I got what I wanted

I am not so young anymore

It’s not a maudlin poem because

I was right

it’s great to be my age

old enough to know better and

silly enough to ignore it.

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Turning forty five

  1. You are still young and full of life!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. platosgroove says:

    Sweet. Made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, Adrienne and Plato.

    Like

  4. Great poem. I really enjoyed it with my coffee this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ash says:

    Nice little poem, I think these would make a great Kindle book.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicola says:

    I think many of us can relate to this, loved it, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

