The Call of the Hawk

Once a hawk sat on my windowsill

asking me to go away into the wild.

I said I couldn’t because I loved her.

Couldn’t leave her

Even for the call of the wild.

The curves I embraced

the smile I adored

the hair I liked to wrap my fingers around

steel in her spine

but soft as a flower.

Fifteen years of love.

Now she says she cares for me

All lost in that one phrase

“I care for you.”

 meaning nothing and everything

I loved her so much that I abandoned my future children

I loved her so much that I cut off my mother’s heart by cutting her off

I loved her so much that I turned a blind eye to her wandering eye

and now she says she cares for me.

And as usual, I am giving in and giving her what she wants

Freedom, adventure and exploration

A divorce.

I should have gone with the hawk

A long, long time ago.

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Call of the Hawk

  1. Love and lust make us do the craziest things, we will drop just about anything to chase after it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin says:

    I have decided at this point in time to go with the Hawk!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Being Human | Next Step to Nirvana

Leave a Reply

