Mighty girl

scary-woods-54-pics_44

Lying curled up on the forest floor

Foetus inside a uterus

Trees crowding up on me

shadows around me like old frightening childhood memories

like old frightening childhood memories

choking my heart

squeezing my lungs

constricting my breath

killing my thoughts

dreams and desires.

Shadows pacing around

trees and vines looping around me

one toe and finger a a time.

Shadows pacing around

shaking non-existent index fingers.

You made this bed

Now, you lie on it.

The bear wants to eat you

You should have stayed in the warm, safe bed

like we told you to.

The bed that we made.

We don’t want to say ‘I told you’

But you ignored our advice at your own peril

Look at you now, all curled up on the forest floor

sucking your thumb

hoping for someone to come and save you

No white knights, no fairy tales

This is life

We told you.

‘Stop’

I screamed.

No need for knights or fairy tales

I have my own suit of armour

And a black belt at life.

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mighty girl

  1. platosgroove says:

    Go girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Latha…Enjoying your posts…Thanks for sharing your writing and your photographs with us! Wishing you days of Gentle winds—Soft curves and Wonder…Phil

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Mighty Girl, your poem of self doubt conquered by self esteem is empowering!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

