Hornet’s Nest

Flailing arms, dancing feet, jumping legs

Ouch, ouch, ouch

Fuck, fuck, fuck

Wow, wow, wow,

Running away from those vicious creatures

chasing me away from my own backyard.

Revenge at its best before sunset

Godzilla decimating a colony.

a few poor puzzled laggards

buzzing around their destroyed home

under my chair.

I should feel avenged

but a twinge of guilt instead.

They need to build a new home.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hornet’s Nest

  1. frenchc1955 says:

    Hi, I wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award. Here is the link: https://charlesfrenchonwordsreadingandwriting.wordpress.com/2015/07/13/dragons-loyalty-award

    Like

  2. Lesley says:

    You had me at “Fuck, fuck, fuck”! I actually was stung over 300+ times and hospitalized from yellow jackets attacking me. My dog stuck his nose in their nest. Not good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Hornet’s Nest – A Rebuttal | Next Step to Nirvana

  4. Love the humanity of the ending – how it depicts looking past your own pain to recognise the pain of others! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

